top of page


2017 Mackay Dance Festival

Dance Express Mackay students dominated the 2017 Mackay Dance Festival!
Not only did they shine on stage but they also showed great sportsmanship throughout the competition... Congratulations!!

Solo Results:

1st places x 20
2nd places x 16
3rd places x 20 
VHC places x 14
HC places x 13


RILEY ALBERT: 6yrs & under Encouragement Award
SULLIVAN GOLDSWORTHY: 7yrs Most Outstanding Performer
DYLAN ITZSTEIN: 9yrs Encouragement Award
TYLA SARON: 10yrs Most Promising Performer
MIA CHAPMAN: 10yrs Most Outstanding Performer
KENNEDY FOLEY: 12yrs Most Outstanding Performer
ELLA GOLDSWORTHY: 13yrs Most Promising Performer
TERAH HOPE: 13yrs Most Outstanding Performer
SULLIVAN GOLDSWORTHY: Junior Overall Most Outstanding Performer
ARIELLE DETHOMASIS: Junior Most Outstanding Choreography (Mia C Contemp Solo)

2016 Mackay Eisteddfod

In 2016 Team DE had their most successful Mackay Eisteddfod to date!

The students showed fantastic sportsmanship and dedication to each performance.

So proud of their hardworking nature, big personalities and special bond... 

Group Results:

1st - 8 & Under Novelty 
1st - 12 & Under Cabaret 
1st - 12&Under Slow Modern/Contemp Group 
1st - Open Slow Modern/Contemp Group 
1st - Open Cabaret Group 
1st - 12 & Under Tap Group 
2nd - 14 & Under Modern 
2nd - 14yrs Classical Group 
2nd - 12&Under Modern Group 
3rd - Open Tap Group 
3rd - 10 & Under Classical Group 
3rd - Open Song&Dance Group 
3rd - 12yrs Classical Group 
HC - 10&Under Tap Group 

Dance Express Mackay


Junior Tap Champion: TERAH HOPE
Junior Tap Runner Up: KENNEDY FOLEY
Junior Jazz Runner Up: TERAH HOPE
Intermediate Jazz HC: HAYLEY BERCK

Solo Results:

20 x 1st
8 x 2nd
15 x 3rd
28 x HC


Most Entertaining Junior Group (12&Under) WON BY THE DANCE EXPRESS MINIONS

The Joe Norris Bursary: 10&Under ‘Most Promise as a Performer’ WON BY SULLIVAN GOLDSWORTHY

Most Outstanding Classical Ballet Solo (10&Under) WON BY DYLAN ITZSTEIN 

The Butch Burnett Bursary: 14&Under ‘Most Promise as a Performer’ WON BY KENNEDY FOLEY

Wendy Gretton-Satti Memorial Award: 11&12yrs ‘Most Deserving of Encouragement’ WON BY TERAH HOPE

Junior Modern Aggregate 11&12yrs WON BY TERAH HOPE

The Kevin Andersen Memorial Trophy: 11yrs & Over securing most points in 7 sections WON BY TERAH HOPE

2016 Mackay Dance Festival

The DE Students had a ball at the Inaugural Mackay Dance Festival earlier in May. They were such fantastic studio ambassadors and their results reflect this. Congratulations to the dancers, teachers and parents who were involved. 


6yrs Most Outstanding - Sullivan Goldsworthy  
8yrs Most Outstanding - Dylan Itzstein  
9yrs Most Promising - Tyla Saron  
11yrs Most Promising - Shontae Minniecon
11yrs Most Outstanding - Kennedy Foley  
12yrs Enouragement - Ella Goldsworthy  
12yrs Most Outstanding - Terah Hope (Tie)
13yrs Most Promising - Jorden Riggs  
14yrs Encouragement - Hayley Berck (Tie)
Junior Overall Most Outstanding - Dylan Itzstein  
Intermediate Most Outstanding Choreography - 

Brielle DeThomasis (Shontae M Contemporary) & 

Mikaela Donnelly Barton (Terah H Lyrical)
Spirit of the Eisteddfod - Lara Joblin

Solo Results:

16 x 1st
13 x 2nd
17 x 3rd
33 x VHC

Australian Musical Debuts

Dance Express has had fantastic success in the Australian Musical Theatre scene with three students successfully auditioning for roles in professional shows…


  • Kennedy Foley played ‘Molly’ in the Brisbane season of the 2012 Australian production of ANNIE along side Todd McKenney and Anthony Warlow


  • Emma Cobb played ‘Jemima’ in the Brisbane season of the 2013 Australian production of CHITTY CHITTY BANG BANG along side Rachael Beck and Shane Bourne


  • Shontae Minniecon played ‘Hortensia’ in the Brisbane and Perth seasons of the Australian production of MATILDA the Musical along side James Millar and Cle Morgan


Having three students performing in professional shows is a huge achievement for our small school in Mackay. We are very proud of these achievements as no other local school can boast these results.

We look forward to creating many more Musical Theatre STARS of the future!

TERAH HOPE: Brent Street Performing Arts (Sydney)

BRIELLE DE THOMASIS: Sydney Dance Company Pre- Professional, Ev & Bow Fulltime Dance Training Centre 

SHAYLEIGH WINDSOR: QUT Dual Degree Dance & Business (Management) 

HAYLEY BERCK: Dynamite Studios (Gold Coast)

AMY FITZPATRICK: Central Queensland Conservatorium of Music (Music Theatre)

ROSLYN BROWN: Brent Street, now physiotherapist 

Dance Express Mackay
Dance Express Mackay
Dance Express Mackay

DE Students have been accepted into Brent St, QUT, Australian Ballet School ITP, Sydney Dance Company Pre-Professional Year, Ev & Bow, Joffrey Ballet School , Dynamite Studios, CQCM, and WAAPA.

Tertiary Dance Studies

bottom of page